2017 Coaches of the Year Awards

2017 Cross Country Coaches of the Year

Greg Cook - 1A Girls

Tribune-Greeley County


Christy Hammer - 1A Boys

Sharon Springs-Wallace County

Rena Mick - 2A Girls


Rex McVey - 2A Boys

Yates Center

Picture not Available

Becky Shamburg - 3A Girls


Troy Prosser - 3A Boys

Central Heights

Tracey Bogina - 4A Girls

Fort Scott -Circle

Gary Wartick - 4A Boys



Rob Harber - 5A Girls

St.James Academy


Justin Wrigley - 5A Boys

St. Thomas Aquinas

Aaron Davidson - 6A Girls

Shawnee Mission North

Levi Huseman - 6A Boys

Olathe North

2017 Track & Field Coaches of the Year

Jason Hett - 1A Girls

Hutchinson-Central Christian

James McMillan - 1A Boys

Montezuma-South Gray

Rena Mick- 2A Girls


Cory Bixler - 2A Boys

Johnson-Stanton County

Picture Not Available

Rich Simmons - 3A Girls


Nick Rodriguez - 3A Boys


Greg Smarsh - 4A Girls


Kip Schultz - 4A Boys

Maize South

Picture Not Available
Picture Not Available
Picture Not Available

Mark Peck - 5A Girls

Shawnee-Mill Valley

Cory Swords - 5A Boys

Bishop Carroll

Randall Zimmerman - 6A Girls

Junction City

Ryan Cornelsen - 6A Boys


2017 Track & Field Assistant Coaches of the Year

Merwyn Snowbarger - Distance

Johnson-Stanton County


Ron Stallard - Jumps

Shawnee Mission East

Mike Jilka- Sprints


Lance Reid - Sprints



Cory Bass - Throws

Seneca-Nemaha Central

Shawn Starr - Throws

Ness City

Len Coryea - Throws


Scott Emme - Throws

Southeast of Saline



Andrea Jones - Pole Vault

Johnson-Stanton County

Mark Schmidt - Pole Vault


Assistant Coaches of the Year Not Pictured: 
Hurdles: Kelsey Carbajo - Olathe Northwest                         Rob Lauppe - Meade              
Sprints/Hurdles: Mark Stauth - Sedgwick                               Craig Amrein - Ellis         
Pole Vault : Brian Kroeker - Blue Valley West  
2017 Coaching Longevity Awards - 30+ Years

Jim Gillaspie - Ashland

Rod Madden - Osawatomie

Brad Egger - Leavenworth
Tracy Schnacker - Topeka West

Not Pictured:

Dave French - Osawatomie

Kaye Frisbie - SM North

Stacy Reed - Burlington

Chris Brindle - KC-Piper

Scott Shufelberger - Washburn Rural

Doug Stanley - Washburn Rural

If you know of anyone who should be honored for coaching XC or TF for 30 or more years in Kansas, please contact us.